人的沃顿冻衍生的间质干细胞疗法

人类沃顿冻衍生的间质干细胞治疗视网膜变性的安全性和有效性

PLoS One.2015年6月24日;10(6):e0128973

LeowSN1, LuuCD2, Hairul NizamMH1, MokPL3, RuhaslizanR1, WongHS1, Wan Abdul HalimWH1, NgMH4, RuszymahBH4, ChowdhurySR4, BastionML1, ThenKY1

1马来西亚吉隆坡,马来西亚国民大学医疗中心,眼科部。2澳大利亚墨尔本大学眼科研究中心,维多利亚皇家眼耳医院,澳大利亚墨尔本。3马来西亚雪兰莪州普特拉大学医学与健康科学学院妇产科系;马来西亚雪兰莪州普特拉大学医学与健康科学学院遗传学与再生医学研究中心。4组织工程中心,马来西亚吉隆坡,马来西亚国民大学医学中心。

目的:研究在皇家外科医学院(RCS)大鼠的视网膜下注射人类沃顿冻干细胞(hWJ-MSCs)对视网膜结构和功能的安全性和疗效。

方法:将RCS大鼠分为2组:hWJ-MSCs治疗组(n = 8)和安慰剂对照组(n = 8)。在治疗组中,在第21天将来自健康捐赠者的hWJ-MSCs注射到每只大鼠的一只眼睛的视网膜下空间。对照组接受相同体积的盐水注射。另外3只动物注射了纳米金标记的干细胞,用微型计算机断层扫描(microCT)在体内追踪细胞的定位。注射前3天,通过视网膜电图(ERG)评估视网膜功能,并在注射后第15、30和70天重复评估。在第70天收集眼睛进行组织学、细胞和分子研究。

结果:在研究期间,没有通过组织学检测到视网膜肿瘤的形成。显微CT扫描显示,hWJ-MSCs停留在眼球局部,没有系统性迁移。透射电子显微镜显示,纳米金标记的细胞位于视网膜下空间内。组织学显示,治疗组保留了外核层(ONL),而对照组没有。然而,各组之间的ERG反应没有明显差异。共聚焦显微镜显示,有证据表明hWJ-MSCs表达了光感受器、Müller细胞和双极细胞的标志物。

Ҳజజజజ:hWJ-MSCs的视网膜下注射延迟了RCS大鼠ONL的丧失。hWJ-MSCs似乎是安全的,并有可能分化为视网膜样细胞。这种基于细胞的疗法在治疗视网膜萎缩症方面的潜力值得进一步研究。

Human Wharton's Jelly-derived Mesenchymal Stem Cells Therapy

Safety and Efficacy of Human Wharton's Jelly-derived Mesenchymal Stem Cells Therapy for Retinal Degeneration

PLoS One. 2015 Jun 24;10(6):e0128973

Leow SN1, Luu CD2, Hairul Nizam MH1, Mok PL3, Ruhaslizan R1, Wong HS1, Wan Abdul Halim WH1, Ng MH4, Ruszymah BH4, Chowdhury SR4, Bastion ML1, Then KY1

1Department of Ophthalmology, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Medical Centre, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.2Centre for Eye Research Australia, University of Melbourne, Royal Victorian Eye & Ear Hospital, Melbourne, Australia. 3Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Selangor Darul Ehsan, Malaysia; Genetics & Regenerative Medicine Research Centre, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Selangor Darul Ehsan, Malaysia. 4Tissue Engineering Centre, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia Medical Centre, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Purpose: To investigate the safety and efficacy of subretinal injection of human Wharton’s Jelly-derived mesenchymal stem cells (hWJ-MSCs) on retinal structure and function in Royal College of Surgeons (RCS) rats.

Methods: RCS rats were divided into 2 groups: hWJ-MSCs treated group (n = 8) and placebo control group (n = 8). In the treatment group, hWJ-MSCs from healthy donors were injected into the subretinal space in one eye of each rat at day 21. Control group received saline injection of the same volume. Additional 3 animals were injected with nanogold-labelled stem cells for in vivo tracking of cells localisation using a micro-computed tomography (microCT). Retinal function was assessed by electroretinography (ERG) 3 days before the injection and repeated at days 15, 30 and 70 after the injection. Eyes were collected at day 70 for histology, cellular and molecular studies.

Results: No retinal tumor formation was detected by histology during the study period. MicroCT scans showed that hWJ-MSCs stayed localised in the eye with no systemic migration. Transmission electron microscopy showed that nanogold-labelled cells were located within the subretinal space. Histology showed preservation of the outer nuclear layer (ONL) in the treated group but not in the control group. However, there were no significant differences in the ERG responses between the groups. Confocal microscopy showed evidence of hWJ-MSCs expressing markers for photoreceptor, Müller cells and bipolar cells.

Conclusions: Subretinal injection of hWJ-MSCs delay the loss of the ONL in RCS rats. hWJ-MSCs appears to be safe and has potential to differentiate into retinal-like cells. The potential of this cell-based therapy for the treatment of retinal dystrophies warrants further studies.