糖尿病--异体脐带间充质干细胞输注

异体脐带间充质干细胞输注安全并能改善未受控制的糖尿病患者的代谢功能

SPChin1, 2, 3, KYThen4, ZVSCheng1, QWTan5, MH SitiHajar5, NA Nur'Ain1, SKCheong6

1马来西亚Cytopeutics公司,2马来西亚Beverly Wilshire医疗中心,3马来西亚NSCMH医疗中心,4马来西亚Cryocord公司,5马来西亚Cellavie公司。6马来西亚Tunku Abdul Rahman大学。

背景介绍:胰岛素抵抗导致II型糖尿病(DM),其特点是血清胰岛素增加,最终胰岛素耗竭。最初的胰岛素增加状态导致了炎症的增加和代谢功能的紊乱。

研究方法招募了65名未受控制的糖尿病患者。除非在医疗紧急情况下,否则不改变饮食、运动和药物。在1或2个疗程中共输注50-100 x106 C-MSC。血液检测糖化血红蛋白(Hba1c-血糖控制的标志物)、高敏C反应蛋白(hs-CRP,炎症的标志物)、空腹LDL胆固醇(LDL-Chol)、甘油三酯(TG)。γ-谷氨酰转氨酶和天冬氨酸转氨酶(GGT和AST,都是脂肪肝浸润的标志物),血清肌酐(肾功能障碍的标志物),收缩压和舒张压(SBP和DBP)在基线和6个月时测量。 6个月。仅在男性中还测量了血清总睾酮。

Results: All patients tolerated the procedure well. There was significant improvement of Hba1c (7.9±2.0 vs. 7.4±1.7%; p<0.001), TChol (4.7±1.4 vs. 4.2±1.0 mmol/L; p=0.01), LDL-Chol (2.5±1.3 vs. 2.1±1.0 mmol/L; p=0.01) and creatinine (107±115 vs. 97±93 umol/L; p=0.03). In men, there was also significant improvement in total testosterone (10.3±4.8 vs. 12.3±6.0 nmol/L; p=0.03). There were trends for improvement of hs-CRP, TG, AST and DBP. The reduction is Hba1c was most significant for very poorly controlled diabetics (9.4±1.9 vs. 8.4±1.8%; p<0.001). There was a modest inverse correlation between Hba1c and total testosterone (r=-0.49, p<0.001).

Ҳజజజజ:异体C-MSC输注在糖尿病患者中是安全的,并且与他们的代谢功能(包括睾酮、胆固醇和肾功能)的改善有关。可能需要进一步研究,增加输液次数和延长观察期,以观察反应的可持续性。

Diabetes - Allogeneic Cord-Derived MSC Infusion

Allogeneic Cord-Derived MSC Infusion is Safe and Improves Metabolic Functions of Uncontrolled Diabetes Patients

SP Chin1,2,3, KY Then4, ZVS Cheng1, QW Tan5, MH Siti Hajar5, NA Nur’ Ain1, SK Cheong6

1Cytopeutics, Malaysia, 2Beverly Wilshire Medical Centre, Malaysia, 3NSCMH Medical Centre, Malaysia, 4Cryocord, Malaysia, 5Cellavie, Malaysia. 6Tunku Abdul Rahman University, Malaysia.

Background: Insulin resistance causes type II diabetes mellitus (DM) and is characterized by increased serum insulin and eventually insulin depletion. The initial increased insulin state results in increase in inflammation and deranged metabolic function.

Methods: 65 patients with uncontrolled diabetes were recruited. Diet, exercise and medications were not altered unless in medical emergencies. Total 50-100 x106 C-MSC were infused over 1 or 2 sessions. Blood tests for glycated haemoglobin (Hba1c – marker of glycaemic control), high-sensitivity C-Reactive Protein (hs-CRP, marker of inflammation), fasting LDL cholesterol (LDL-Chol), triglyceride (TG), gamma-glutamyl transaminase and aspartate transaminase (GGT and AST, both markers of fatty liver infiltration), serum creatinine (a marker of renal dysfunction), systolic and diastolic blood pressure (SBP and DBP) were measured at baseline and 6 months. Serum total testosterone was also measured in men only.

Results: All patients tolerated the procedure well. There was significant improvement of Hba1c (7.9±2.0 vs. 7.4±1.7%; p<0.001), TChol (4.7±1.4 vs. 4.2±1.0 mmol/L; p=0.01), LDL-Chol (2.5±1.3 vs. 2.1±1.0 mmol/L; p=0.01) and creatinine (107±115 vs. 97±93 umol/L; p=0.03). In men, there was also significant improvement in total testosterone (10.3±4.8 vs. 12.3±6.0 nmol/L; p=0.03). There were trends for improvement of hs-CRP, TG, AST and DBP. The reduction is Hba1c was most significant for very poorly controlled diabetics (9.4±1.9 vs. 8.4±1.8%; p<0.001). There was a modest inverse correlation between Hba1c and total testosterone (r=-0.49, p<0.001).

Conclusions: Allogeneic C-MSC infusion is safe in diabetes patients and is associated with improvement in their metabolic functions including testosterone, cholesterol and renal function. Further study with increased number of infusions and longer observation period may be warranted to observe the sustainability of the response.