冷冻保存的间充质干细胞治疗

冷冻保存的间质细胞治疗严重扩张缺血性心肌病是安全和可行的

Chin SP1, Poey AC2, Wong CY3, Chang SK2, Teh W2, Mohr TJ2, Cheong SK1

1国际医科大学,马来西亚,吉隆坡。 2马来西亚槟城基督复临会医院和 3马来西亚雪兰莪州的Cytopeutics公司。

背景目的:骨髓间质细胞(MSC)代表了一种新的治疗方法,用于治疗有广泛心肌瘢痕的严重心力衰竭,特别是在与传统血管重建同时进行时。然而,干细胞很难在没有污染、感染和活力下降风险的情况下在培养基中运输。我们测试了异地间充质干细胞培养和扩增的可行性和安全性,并在植入前立即快速解冻细胞,以治疗严重扩张缺血性心肌病。

方法。我们招募了三名连续的终末期缺血性心力衰竭患者,并有证据表明其心肌全层瘢痕。从20毫升骨髓抽吸液中分离出间充质干细胞,用10%二甲亚砜(DMSO)进行扩增和冷冻保存。细胞在冷冻机中被运输。患者同时接受了冠状动脉旁路移植术(CABG)和心肌内注射间充质干细胞。

结果:所有样品解冻后的细胞存活率都超过90%。上清液中没有细菌和真菌的生长。所有病人都安全地接受了手术。与基线相比,所有患者在6个月后的心脏磁共振成像中,心脏功能和容积都有明显改善,瘢痕得到解决,心肌壁厚度增加。改善的幅度超过了单纯CABG的预期。患者在1年内仍保持良好状态。

Ҳజజజజ:用10%的DMSO进行速度控制的冷冻是一种安全、可行和实用的方法,可以冷冻保存间充质干细胞,用于细胞储存和运输,没有污染或细胞死亡的风险。直接注射间充质干细胞可能是有益的,作为心脏血管重建的辅助手段。

Cryopreserved Mesenchymal Stromal Cell Treatment

Cryopreserved Mesenchymal Stromal Cell Treatment is Safe and Feasible for Severe Dilated Ischemic Cardiomyopathy

Chin SP1 , Poey AC2 , Wong CY3 , Chang SK2 , Teh W2 , Mohr TJ2 , Cheong SK1 

1 International Medical University, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 2Penang Adventist Hospital, Penang, Malaysia and 3Cytopeutics, Selangor, Malaysia. 

Background Aims: Bone marrow (BM) mesenchymal stromal cells (MSC) represent a novel therapy for severe heart failure with extensive myocardial scarring, especially when performed concurrently with conventional revascularization. However, stem cells are difficult to transport in culture media without risk of contamination, infection and reduced viability. We tested the feasibility and safety of off-site MSC culture and expansion with freeze-controlled cryopreservation and subsequent rapid thawing of cells immediately prior to implantation to treat severe dilated ischemic cardiomyopathy.

Methods: We recruited three consecutive patients with end-stage ischemic heart failure with evidence of full-thickness myocardial scarring. MSC was isolated from 20 mL BM aspiration, expanded and cryopreserved using 10% dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO). Cells were transported in a cryoshipper. Patients underwent concurrent coronary artery bypass graft (CABG) with intramyocardial MSC injection.

Results: The cell viability after thawing exceeded 90% for all samples. The supernatant was free from bacterial and fungal growth. All patients underwent the procedure safely. There were no arrhythmias noted.There was significant improvement in cardiac function and volume, resolution of scarring and increased wall thickness for all patients on cardiac magnetic resonance imaging at 6 months compared with baseline. The magnitude of improvement was more than was expected with CABG alone. Patients remained well at 1 year. 

Conclusions: Rate-controlled freezing with 10% DMSO is a safe, feasible and practical method of cryopreserving MSC for cell storage and transportation without risk of contamination or cell death. Direct MSC injection may be beneficial as an adjunct to cardiac revascularization.